Planets of the Solar system

Solar system – star system with the Central star, the Sun and rotating around it outer natural objects. Most of the mass of the rotating objects is concentrated in the planets. They have a rounded shape, rotates around its axis and some of them have their own satellites. With the known assumptions we can distinguish nine planets of the solar system. In order they are located as follows (distance from Sun): mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto.


A special place in our star system is planet Earth. Earth is the third planet in the Solar system. The uniqueness of the Earth in that it is the only known planet that has life, and not just life, but intelligent beings – humans . the number of which the planet is constantly increasing. Earth was formed about 4.5 billion years ago from interstellar dust and gas. Earth is the largest and most dense among the planets planet so-called earth’s group (mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars). Earth is the only one with water in the liquid state, which occupies about 71% of its surface.

Large planet

Large planets of the solar system, or giant planets, are farther from the Sun than the terrestrial planets. They are also called gas giants. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Common to all of the major planets in the solar system that they Ballycastle composed of hydrogen and helium while the terrestrial planets are composed of metals and silicates. Large planet mass is significantly superior to the Earth (they contain 99% of all planetary mass), and 90% of this mass bear the Jupiter and the Saturn.

The largest planet

Jupiter is the fifth and largest planet in the solar system. It is heavier than the Earth is about 318 times, however, its mass less than the mass of the Sun is almost 1000 times. The radius of Jupiter is about 11.2 times the earth’s gravity stronger than the earth 2.4 times. In the atmosphere of Jupiter is constantly emanate the strongest storms, sometimes lasting for centuries. There is reason to believe this planet of the “failed star”: if the mass of Jupiter would be 50 times more, he shrank in diameter by several times, leading to his transformation into a “brown dwarf”.


Most planets have satellites – heavenly bodies revolving around them and held in by gravity. The greatest number of satellites Jupiter – 63 known today, with one of them – Europe (Galileo open together with other three other largest moons – IO, Ganymede, and Callisto in 1610) – there is water in the liquid state, which theoretically does not exclude the presence of any life forms. The largest satellite of Jupiter Ganymede. The earth has only one satellite – the Moon, which gradually removed from it and sometime companion will cease to be.

Scientists have found caves
MOSCOW, 6 Feb – RIA Novosti. The "dumbbell" of comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko, despite its extremely low mass, does not contain large voids, which suggests that primary matter of the Solar system…

Continue reading →

NASA has selected astronauts
Computer enthusiast, a fan of technology and gadgets, love the space, love science fiction, computer games and movies. I think if I learned nothing, spent the day in vain. Space…

Continue reading →

"After the flight I stand in line and dream to fly to the moon"
Cosmonaut Sergei Revin, who came to Ekaterinburg and met with us on Tuesday, February 10, was as from the picture: tall, handsome and with a kind smile. Speaks confidently, but…

Continue reading →